I Mother Earth and her children I The Growing Concern: Eco-anxiety in the Era of Climate Change

-I Mother Earth and her children I The Growing Concern: Eco-anxiety in the Era of Climate Change

I Mother Earth and her children I The Growing Concern: Eco-anxiety in the Era of Climate Change

Publish time: 2023-12-07
Read article

Climate change is happening, and mental health is as important as always. Although mental health awareness has been present since the 1700s, there has definitely been an increase over the past three years, especially due to the pandemic. As climate change is becoming more serious, it might actually be a factor contributing to your anxiety. Imagine all the changes our society has been forced to make due to climate change and it still isn’t enough. Will we ever find a solution to this issue? The truth is we don’t know the answer until it is solved, and that is what is causing all of our anxiety. How can something that isn’t directly affecting me make me anxious you might ask? Firstly, directly or indirectly we are all being affected by climate change. Secondly, news about climate change is all around us. It’s inevitable to hear about our planet’s doom in some form of media. So what is this new type of anxiety called?

There is a new term coming to light known as Eco-anxiety Which, as stated by the American Psychology Association (APA), is “the chronic fear of environmental cataclysm that comes from observing the seemingly irrevocable impact of climate change and the associated concern for one's future and that of the next generations '. Although it is a form of anxiety mostly associated with people who are aware of our current climate issues, the growing impact of climate change on our industries, such as agriculture and natural disasters, will eventually begin to affect more and more people. The Yale Program of Climate Change Communications stated that 70 percent of Americans are "worried" about climate change, with 59 percent feeling "helpless."

There is no doubt that climate change has become one of the biggest stressors to humanity. Eco-anxiety has been described similarly to another unregistered condition known as solastalgia, which occurs in native populations following destructive changes in their territory. However, the major difference between the two is that solastalgia affects people who have already suffered from a natural disaster while eco-anxiety includes the worry that it might happen in the future.

Environmental disasters do not affect people equally, different parts of the world experience climate change and disasters to different degrees. This means that people would have different levels of stressors. There are very obvious reasons why someone would suffer from eco-anxiety, such as the loss of crops due to climate disasters or even unemployment. Apart from crop loss and higher unemployment rates; other changes in communities, such as aboriginal communities, can lead to eco-anxiety due to these communities' great dependence on the environment.

 


Anwar 1_0.webp (27 KB)
Figure 1: Linking the physical and psychological impacts of climate change.

 

This does not count out people outside these communities. Eco-anxiety can also be experienced by people who work in the environmental sector, who are also prone to higher levels of eco-anxiety due to the awareness of our planet.

Indigenous Mental Health and Climate Change

The more we are connected to the land or dependent on the land, the greater the impact to our mental health that would be experienced by an individual due to climate change. This is a common response to any creature whose home is threatened, with no exceptions to humans. But some of us continue to have a home to cling to or are only feeling the tip of the iceberg when it comes to climate change. Indigenous people are known for being much more dependent on the land. It is more than just access to resources. Due to their deep connection to the land/earth, there may be other factors playing into their anxiety. These include:


|Understanding or perception of climate change:
Indigenous populations are aware of the changes happening in our climate; however, they often describe the changes as strange, unpredictable, and wild. Often when someone is faced with something incomprehensible, this brings about confusion and worry.


|Homeland attachment:
Indigenous people are quite attached to their land. Climate change has caused many communities to be forced to migrate or develop a sense of loss of place. Due to the cultural connection between indigenous people and the land; the land was considered a way to alleviate stress and provide mental quality.


|Disruption of culture:
This is linked to the loss of land. Indigenous communities use the land for important cultural practices such as hunting, fishing, socializing, and maintaining relationships. With the limited access to land due to climate change, not being able to perform traditional practices and heal on the land has also led to adding anxiety.


|Food insecurity:
One of the best pathways to show the link between mental health and climate change. Climate change has affected the accessibility and the quality of crops. The unavailability of crops leads to stress in worries about malnutrition.


|Existing socio-economic disadvantages:
Indigenous communities are concentrated in a specific skill set. Lack of land has decreased employment.

People who have a sense of losing their homes because of climate change or societies, such as indigenous communities, will have a more severe level of eco-anxiety and other effects to their mental health. What about the people who only feel the tip of the iceberg? Although some communities are not directly dependent on the earth the anxiety is still there. Which is why we should not exclude them from the equation. Let's dive in a bit more into a main contributor to eco-anxiety.

Climate Change and Eco-Anxiety in Modern Day: Where does it come from?

Our planet is dying, and the media does a great job of making this known. Imagine putting on your TV and being told daily that we are one step closer to doomsday. We aren’t only aware of what is happening, but we are constantly being bombarded with information that puts us in distress. Not to mention that we receive this information while trying to deal with our personal lives. Eco-anxiety is something that affects all but can be more severe on kids and adolescents who lack a proper understanding of what is happening. Significant worry can be caused by the information being fed to us in the media. According to Ojala M., this worry can cause youths to cope by trying to search for more information with the hope of solving the problem. When used to cope with an uncontrollable situation such as climate change, it can cause lower mental well-being rather than provide help.

Climate change has been portrayed differently in the media throughout the years. This can make it a bit more complicated how exactly media affects the way people think and the level of impact it has on people. In one scenario, there is a form of media that oversimplifies what climate change is, which, as a result, does not show its relevance to people’s daily lives. As mentioned above, this can lead to confusion as to why the community is depressed. There is no understanding of how stressors such as loss of culture and land affect well-being.

Scenario two involves using the media to show the urgency of climate change. Although it is important to educate the world about what is happening to our planet, without also providing coverage of focused solutions on the issue, it can contribute to anxiety and loss of sense of hope. Media is important for its wide and swift reach. However, there are also things to consider in media, such as bias and sensationalism. With a delicate topic such as climate change, causing alarm with such an issue can lead to panic within society.

Having media so easily accessible has been a blessing to everyone to keep informed about what is happening around the world. However, with the chances of receiving misinformation or over-exaggeration, the likelihood of developing anxiety from the media is increasing with time.

 

Anwar 2_0.webp (60 KB)

What to Do about Eco-anxiety?

We are definitely in a tough situation at the moment. There is undeniable proof for us to panic, but as a wise person said, "It isn't over till it's over." The real question is what do we do to cope with the anxiety that comes with climate change?

This is something that requires improvement in everyone’s area, not just the media. However, due to the large impact that media and social media have on our current generation, it is important to also report the positive changes as well as solutions that have positively set our transition to sustainability. Without this, the only achievement received through reporting will be an overwhelming sensation and amplified fear. The good news is that, just like regular anxiety, eco-anxiety can also be managed. It’s not the end of the world yet, and that is something we should all be mindful of. So what can we do about it?

Ways to Work with Your Eco-anxiety?

We have established that eco-anxiety has to do with the fear related to climate change and its impact. It’s also important to understand that it is normal to feel overwhelmed and distressed by what is happening to our planet. The reality of it is that we are all unsure of what the future holds for our planet but are trying our best to do our part. Here are some ways to cope with such feelings:

|Stay informed and educate yourself:
Climate change is here and it is happening. There is no denying that it is part of our lives, so do your best to be mindful of how it affects you; especially when it comes to your mental health. New information that speaks about our dying planet can be scary but we cannot trust everything we see for the first time in the media. Take time out to properly research a topic and see what other media outlets are saying. Apart from this, be sure to also not only educate yourself on what is going wrong. Our climate is changing but so are our solutions to the problems presented. Focus on finding solutions and actions you can take to make a positive change.

|Take action:
Always remember that small steps yield big results. Sometimes, when we see natural disasters, mass deforestation, and rising sea levels, it is easy to feel helpless. When we take small steps such as reducing waste, using public transport or even walking instead of driving, these can be small actions that can make you feel empowered.

|Connecting with others:
Amid a climate crisis, isolation is not the way to go. You should also be a bit softer on yourself, as the cases of eco-anxiety are increasing with time. You need to take action both individually and within communities. Working within communities can provide you with support, advice, and friendship that can help alleviate feelings of isolation and despair.

|Practice mindfulness:
This is the icing on the top of the cake. Why? Mindfulness includes meditation, yoga or simply spending time in nature. When presented with never-ending information, using some of these practices can help with processing the information in a controlled manner as well as properly understanding what you're feeling based on the information. Practices such as spending time in nature give you time to develop an appreciation for what we currently have and not just what are losing.

|Seek professional help:
If your eco-anxiety or social media anxiety becomes unmanageable, it is also okay to consider seeking professional help from a therapist or counselor.

 

Be gentle with yourself. As real as climate change is, so is eco-anxiety. The pressures currently affecting our mental health due to climate change are countless but the solutions are also coming. We are the solution, so it is only right that we take care of ourselves just as we are trying to do for our planet.

 


References:
1. Anderson. (2023, March 10). How to Deal with Eco-Anxiety. How to Deal With Eco-Anxiety. Retrieved May 7, 2023
https://greenly.earth/en-gb/blog/ecology-news/how-to-deal-with-eco-anxiety

2. Clayton, S., C.M. Manning, and C. Hodge, Beyond Storms, and Droughts: The Psychological Impacts of Climate Change. 2014, American Psychological Association and ecoAmerica; p.13.
https://www.therecoveryvillage.com/mental-health/anxiety/levels-of-anxiety/

3. Ojala, M. (2019). Eco-anxiety. Royal Society Art J. 4.
Available online at: https:// medium.com/rsa-journal/eco-anxiety-323056def77f

Anwar profile.jpg (157 KB)

Anwar Wade

Anwar Wade, a Belizean national, has been residing in Taiwan for six years since 2017. He recently completed his undergraduate program in Bioenvironmental Systems Engineering at National Taiwan University. Passionate about climate justice, Anwar has immersed himself in diverse domains during his time in Taiwan. He has garnered invaluable experience in environmental consulting, non-profit organization management, environmental journalism, and quality engineering. Additionally, he had the privilege of applying his studies and exploring sustainability practices during a research trip to India. This experience fueled his desire to approach environmental sciences from a more social science perspective.

Looking ahead, Anwar envisions furthering his studies in sustainable enterprise or environmental and societal governance. He aspires to continuously refine his writing skills to inspire and inform people about climate change. Beyond his professional and academic aspirations, Anwar finds solace in the outdoors, engaging in activities such as hiking, river tracing, and bouldering. In his free time, he actively contributes to communities and dog shelters in Taiwan, seeking to make a positive impact beyond his professional endeavors.

More related articles

EnergyOMNI 全能源 I Enera Media Ltd. 恩能新元傳媒有限公司

Take part in shaping a net-zero destiny - Subscribe Now!

〔Mother Earth and her children〕日益升溫的憂慮-氣候變遷時代的「生態焦慮」

-〔Mother Earth and her children〕日益升溫的憂慮-氣候變遷時代的「生態焦慮」

〔Mother Earth and her children〕日益升溫的憂慮-氣候變遷時代的「生態焦慮」

發布時間: 2023-12-07
閱讀文章

氣候變遷正在發生,並深刻地影響著人們的心理健康。自 1700 年代以來,對心理健康意識逐漸提升,特別是在過去三年的疫情影響下,其重要性更加凸顯。隨著氣候變遷的加劇,這可能成為導致人們焦慮的一個重要因素。回顧我們社會目前因應氣候變遷所做的種種調整,然而,這些努力似乎仍不夠。實際上,解決問題之前,沒有人能確定正確的應對之道,這也是焦慮情緒產生的原因之一。首先,我們每個人都直接或間接地受到氣候變遷的衝擊;其次,有關氣候變遷的新聞無處不在,各種形式的媒體都在提醒我們地球面臨的嚴重挑戰是不可避免的。那麼,這種新型的焦慮究竟應稱之為何?

有一個新興術語被稱為「生態焦慮」。正如美國心理學會(APA)所解釋,這是指對環境災難的長期憂慮,這種憂慮源於對看似難以挽回的氣候變遷影響的觀察,以及對個人和下一代未來的擔憂。生態焦慮不僅僅與當前從事氣候研究的人直接相關,同時對農業和自然災害的影響也越來越大,最終其影響將擴及更廣泛的範疇。根據耶魯大學氣候變遷傳播項目的資料,有70% 的美國人對氣候變遷感到「擔憂」,59% 的人感到「無助」。

毫無疑問,氣候變遷已然成為人類所面臨的最大挑戰之一。生態焦慮被形容為一種類似未註冊的疾病,被稱為「solastalgia」,這種疾患在當地居民中常在其領土遭受破壞性變化後發生。然而,solastalgia 和 eco-anxiety 兩者的主要區別在於,solastalgia 影響的是已經遭受自然災害的人,而 eco-anxiety 則包括對可能發生的情況所引發的憂慮。

環境災害對人的影響因地而異,全球各地在經歷氣候變遷和災害方面存在著差異。這導致人們面臨各種程度的壓力源。有些人因為直接的影響而產生生態焦慮,例如氣候災害導致農作物損失,嚴重可能甚至失業。除了農作物損失和失業率的增加之外,社區變化例如原住民社區,由於原住民對環境的高度依賴,也很可能優先引發生態焦慮。

 


Anwar 1_0.webp (27 KB)
圖1:氣候變遷的物理和心理影響

 

這還不涵蓋社會群體以外的個體。舉例來說,環境部門工作者深陷於生態焦慮之中,因為他們深知地球境況每況愈下,這種認知使得他們更易產生更深層次的生態情緒焦慮。

氣候變遷與原住民心理健康

我們與土地的聯繫愈緊密,換句話說,我們對土地的依賴程度愈深,個人因氣候變遷而受到的影響或心理創傷也就愈為深遠。對所有生物而言,這是對於家園受到威脅的普遍的反應。在氣候變遷之下,有些人仍保有家園,或者說只是感受到了問題的冰山一角。然而,原住民更加依賴自然土地,這種依賴並非僅關於資源的取用,由於他們與地球的深厚聯繫,還可能存在其他因素而產生焦慮,舉例包括:


|對氣候變遷的理解或感知:
原住民深刻了解氣候正在發生變化,但可能因為對發生原因了解不足,經常將這些變化描述為奇怪的、不可預測的或是狂暴的。通常,當一個人面臨一些難以理解的事物時,會因困惑和擔憂引起焦慮。


|地方依戀:
原住民極為依戀他們的土地,土地被視為減輕壓力和提供心理支持的一種方式。然而氣候變遷導致許多社區家園被迫遷移,進而產生失落感。


|文化破壞:
這與土地流失相關。原住民社區將土地視為重要的文化場所,用於狩獵、捕魚、社交和維持人際關係。由於氣候變遷導致土地使用受限,這不僅限制了傳統習俗的實踐,還妨礙了在土地上進行傳統治療,從而導致焦慮的加劇。  


|糧食不安全:
這是顯示心理健康與氣候變遷之間聯繫的一個主要途徑。氣候變遷影響了農作物的質量。擔心自身及孩子營養不良,農作物供應不足帶來了主要的壓力。  


|現有的社會經濟劣勢:
原住民社區通常集中在特定的技能組合中。土地的匱乏減少了就業機會,這同時降低了社區成員的自我價值感,因為他們無法謀取生計。

因氣候變遷或社會改變(如原住民社區)而深感失去家園的人,其所承受的生態焦慮與對心理健康的負面影響將更為嚴重。儘管有些社區未直接受氣候困擾,焦慮感仍隨著時間層層叠叠。讓我們深入挖掘引發生態焦慮的主要成因。

現代氣候變遷和生態焦慮:它從何而來?

我們的地球正在死亡,媒體在關注這個問題上表現得相當出色。請想像每天打開電視,都聽到我們離世界末日更近了一步的消息。我們對正在發生的事情心知肚明,還經常淹沒在各種訊息的轟炸。更別提在面對日常之中我們所面臨的這些資訊。生態焦慮對於缺乏對事物完整理解的兒童和青少年而言,影響或許更為嚴重。媒體所提供的資訊也恐引起極大的擔憂。根據 Ojala M. (Reference 3) 所述,年輕人試圖透過搜尋更多資訊以解決問題,但當應對氣候變遷議題無法控制的情況時,瘋狂蒐集各種資訊可能導致心理健康狀況下降,而非提供幫助。

多年以來,各國媒體對於氣候變遷的描繪存在著不同見解,這種差異性使媒體對人們的思維方式產生的附加影響更為複雜。某些情況下,部分媒體可能過於簡化了氣候變遷的涵義,未能充分展現氣候變遷與人們日常生活的密切聯繫。如前所述,因為缺乏對文化和土地喪失等壓力因素如何影響幸福感的了解,這種情況可能導致人們對社區抑鬱的原因產生混淆。

前文所論及的是透過媒體呈現氣候變遷的緊迫性。儘管讓全球了解地球上正在發生的變化至為重要,然若報導未提供有關此問題核心解決之方案,則可能引起焦慮和絕望。媒體因其廣泛而即時的影響力而顯得極為重要,然而,在媒體傳播中仍需留心諸多因素,例如帶有偏見或過於聳動的報導。在談及如氣候變遷這微妙的話題時,刻意製造恐慌可能引發社會不安。

擁有如此方便的媒體對每一位個體而言實屬幸事,可以隨時了解世界各地正在發生的事情。然而,隨著接收錯誤訊息或過度渲染的風險,媒體所引發的焦慮可能性隨著時光的推移而逐漸升高。

 

Anwar 2_0.webp (60 KB)

如何應對生態焦慮?

地球正處於極為艱難的時刻,儘管諸多無可否認的證據讓我們感到恐慌,然如先賢所言:「直到結束,一切才算結束。」真正的挑戰在於我們應該如何因應地球即將面臨的厄運。

實際上,這需要各行各業的人共同進行改進,而非僅限於媒體範疇。然而,鑒於媒體和社群平台對現今社會深遠的影響,因此積極報導變革,並找出永續發展過渡期的解決方案變得至關重要。否則,透過報導取得的唯一成就可能僅是引起壓倒性的轟動和不斷擴大的恐懼。好消息是,就像經常困擾我們的焦慮一樣,生態焦慮是可以受到有效控制的。這還不是世界末日,而是大家應共同關切之事。那麼,我們能夠採取哪些措施呢?

應對生態焦慮的方法?

我們已證實,生態焦慮與氣候變遷及其衍生的恐懼有密切關係。與此同時,對於地球所發生事務感到不安和壓力是一種正常的情感體驗。事實上,我們不確定地球究竟會面臨怎樣的未來,但我們正在盡最大努力履行自己的責任。以下是一些應對生態焦慮的方法:

|保持資訊更新並自我充實:
氣候變遷正在發生,這是無可否認的現實。要保持警覺,特別是當它影響你的心理健康時。關於地球垂危艱難的新資訊可能令人恐懼,但我們不能完全信賴媒體初次呈現的所有內容。必須花時間深入研究,查閱其他媒體的報導。此外,不僅要了解問題所在,還應關注解決方案和個人可以採取的積極行動。

|採取行動:
時刻牢記,細微之舉亦能引發重大的成效。面對自然災害、大規模樹木砍伐和海平面上升,我們有時可能感到無助。然而,採取實際行為例如減少廢棄物、搭乘大眾運輸,甚至選擇步行而非開車等生活習慣改變,都是能賦予個人力量的舉措。

|與他人建立聯繫:
在氣候危機中,孤立並非解決之道。我們對自己應該要更為寬容,因為隨著時間推移,生態焦慮的病例正在增加。個人和社區層面應採取行動。促進社區中合作可以提供支持、建議和友誼,有助於緩解孤立感和絕望感。

|練習正念思考:
實踐正念如同錦上添花。正念的實踐包括冥想、瑜伽,或僅僅是在大自然中靜靜處於一隅。當面對不斷湧來的資訊洪流時,透過這些方法,我們能夠根據資訊正確理解自己的感受。在大自然中度過寶貴的時光,這種實踐讓我們有機會培養珍惜對眼前所擁有之事物賞,而非僅專注於失去的一面。

|尋求專業協助:
倘若您的生態焦慮或社交媒體焦慮逐漸難以自我紓解,亦可謹慎考慮咨詢治療師或輔導員,以獲得專業的協助。

 

對自己溫柔一點。 與氣候變遷一樣真實,生態焦慮也是如此。 由於氣候變遷,目前影響我們心理健康的壓力數不勝數,但解決方案也隨之而來。 我們就是解決方案,所以我們像為地球所做的那樣照顧好自己是正確的。

 


References:
1. Anderson. (2023, March 10). How to Deal with Eco-Anxiety. How to Deal With Eco-Anxiety. Retrieved May 7, 2023
https://greenly.earth/en-gb/blog/ecology-news/how-to-deal-with-eco-anxiety

2. Clayton, S., C.M. Manning, and C. Hodge, Beyond Storms, and Droughts: The Psychological Impacts of Climate Change. 2014, American Psychological Association and ecoAmerica; p.13.
https://www.therecoveryvillage.com/mental-health/anxiety/levels-of-anxiety/

3. Ojala, M. (2019). Eco-anxiety. Royal Society Art J. 4.
Available online at: https:// medium.com/rsa-journal/eco-anxiety-323056def77f

Anwar profile.jpg (157 KB)

Anwar Wade

來自 Belize 的 Anwar Wade,自 2017 年起已在臺灣居住逾六年。國立臺灣大學生物環境系統工程的學士學位。對於氣候正義充滿熱情,在臺灣的期間積累了在環境諮詢、非營利組織管理、環境新聞學和質量工程方面的寶貴經驗。也曾在印度進行研究旅行,應用學術知識探索永續發展的實踐行動,此經歷激發了 Anwar 希望從更社會科學的角度探討環境科學的渴望。

Anwar 計劃深造永續企業或環境與社會治理領域。藉著寫作以啟發和告知大眾有關氣候變化的議題。除了職業和學術追求外,平時喜歡在戶外尋求寧靜,參與遠足、溯溪和攀岩等活動;也積極參與臺灣的社區和狗隻庇護所義工,希望在專業努力之外,為社會帶來積極的影響。

更多相關文章

EnergyOMNI 全能源 I Enera Media Ltd. 恩能新元傳媒有限公司

立即訂閱,加入淨零世代